TWU – Spartans Beat Queen’s To Capture Third Straight Blue Team Cup

LANGLEY, B.C. – Trinity Western won the Blue Team Cup for the third straight year, beating Queen’s 3-0 (25-13, 25-13, 25-13) to capture the prestigious title.

The Spartans finished the tournament with a 4-1 record, which put them in a three-way tie for first place, alongside Brandon and UBC, but TWU won the tiebreaker and raised the trophy thanks to having posted the best set ratio.

TWU finished the tournament with three-set wins over Mount Royal, UBC Okanagan, Brandon and Queen’s. The only blemish on the Spartans record was a four-set loss to UBC earlier on Saturday afternoon.

Ben Josephson – TWU Head Coach
“It was really an incredibly well-played match on our part. I thought we played every phase as well as we possibly we could at this stage in the season. I thought they had amazing focus, athleticism, play-making, togetherness and poise. We wanted to finish this preseason phase with a really well-played match and we did that.

“We want to thank all the teams for coming out and for UBC for co-hosting this tournament with us. It’s a really fun annual event and it’s turning into one of the best preseason tournaments in the country. With the strength of the field, it really has been a special event.”

TWU will now set its sights on the Canada West regular season, as the defending national champion Spartans will open the year on the road against Alberta Oct. 18-19.

About Spartan Athletics
As official members of U SPORTS, the Spartans currently compete in 11 sports in the Canada West conference, including women’s and men’s soccer, volleyball, basketball, cross country and track & field, as well as women’s rugby sevens. TWU also competes in the British Columbia Intercollegiate Hockey League (BCIHL) in men’s hockey and as an independent team in men’s rugby. The men’s and women’s hockey programs will begin playing in Canada West and U SPORTS in 2020-21. Since TWU entered U SPORTS in 1999, the Spartans have won 12 U SPORTS team championships and 27 Canada West team championships and two BCIHL championships.

[SOURCE: Trinity Western University]